Baptist World Alliance Logo

BWA World Congress Resolution 1995.5

The General Council and 17th World Congress of the Baptist World Alliance meeting in Buenos Aires, Argentina, July 31-August 6, 1995, with the theme Come Celebrate Christ: The Hope of the World,

THANKS President Carlos Menem of the Republic of Argentina for his warm greeting, and Minister of Religion, Angel M. Centeno, for his excellent support and facilitation of the Congress;

EXPRESSES our profound appreciation to Argentine Baptist leaders, especially President Juan Calcagni, Local Arrangements Chairman Raul Scialabba and those serving with them, for the superb preparations which have made this Congress a challenging and spiritually uplifting experience;

COMMENDS President Knud Wümpelmann, General Secretary Denton Lotz and the staff and other officers of the Baptist World Alliance for their patient guidance and outstanding leadership during this quinquennium;

VOICES our profound appreciation to the people of Argentina and especially to our Baptist brothers and sisters of the Evangelical Baptist Convention of Argentina for their warm reception and gracious hospitality;

CELEBRATES with our Baptist brothers and sisters of Latin America economic progress and democratic reforms being made within the region;

AGONIZES with our Latin American brothers and sisters in their struggle to find solutions to the economic inequalities, political corruption, and ecological crisis occurring within the region even as we battle with the same sinful conditions throughout the world;

CALLS upon or Baptist to be salt and light to a world that desperately needs to know the hope that comes only through Christ.


Original Source Bibliography: Ryan, Wendy E., editor. Celebrate Christ: The Hope of the World; Official Report of the Seventeenth Baptist World Congress, Buenos Aires, Argentina, August 1-16, 1995. McLean, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 1995.

Original Source Footnote/Endnote: Wendy E. Ryan, ed., Celebrate Christ: The Hope of the World; Official Report of the Seventeenth Baptist World Congress, Buenos Aires, Argentina, August 1-16, 1995 (McLean, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 1995), p. 207.

Online Document Full Citation: BWA World Congress Resolution 1995.5 Appreciation;

In-text Online Document Citation: (BWA World Congress Resolution 1995.5).

For more information about Baptist World Alliance resolutions, visit

Since its formation in 1905, the Baptist World Alliance has networked the global Baptist family to impact the world for Christ with a commitment to strengthen worship, fellowship and unity; lead in mission and evangelism; respond to people in need through aid, relief, and community development; defend religious freedom, human rights, and justice; and advance theological reflection and leadership development.

Latest News

Baptist World Congress Logo Unveiled

In partnership with Australian Baptist Ministries and Queensland Baptists, the BWA is pleased to unveil the 2025 Congress logo designed by a First Nations artist.

2022 BWA Annual Gathering Focused on Racial Justice

(BIRMINGHAM, AL – July 22, 2022) The thematic focus and content development for the Gathering was largely facilitated by the BWA Racial Justice Action Group launched in October 2020 with unanimous affirmation from the BWA Executive Committee. Co-chaired by BWA General Secretary Elijah M. Brown and BWA First Vice President Karl Johnson from Jamaica, the Action Group embarked on a two-year journey

BWA Welcomes New Member Body

Meeting in Birmingham, Alabama, on July 12, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) General Council unanimously approved the Missionary Baptist Conference, USA (MBC), as the newest member of the global Baptist body.

Executive Committee Releases Statement on Ukrainian Crisis

(FALLS CHURCH, VIRGINIA, USA – March 25, 2022) In conjunction with its Executive Committee meetings conducted this month, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) Executive Committee has released a joint statement in response to the crisis in Eastern Europe. This is the first statement of its kind released by the Executive Committee in over 40 years.