2024 Award Nomination Process Open

Now accepting nominations for the 2024 Denton & Janice Lotz Human Rights Award! Established in 2006, the award is given by the BWA for significant and effective action and activities to secure, protect, restore, or preserve human rights.

Announcing Our Quinquennial Awardees

It was an honor to present the inaugural BWA Kowloon International Baptist Church Evangelism Award to 3D Church of Estonia at the 22nd Baptist World Congress.

Recognizing Global Baptists Leader

Baptists around the world are leading in mission and evangelism, standing against injustice, and defending human rights. Through our annual and quinquennial awards, it is our honor to recognize the kingdom impact of their ministries.

The BWA-Kowloon International Baptist Church (KIBC) Evangelism Award is designed to recognize a Baptist congregation effectively uniting evangelism and discipleship. Presented every five years, the award will be given to a church actively engaged in sharing the Gospel through an innovative approach that is biblically-based, Christ-centered, and culturally-sensitive.

KIBC has been ministering in the center of life in Kowloon, Hong Kong, for more than 50 years and is a dynamic church with a heart for evangelism. With members from more than 30 countries, it has sponsored the launch of several “chapels,” including University Baptist Church and Clearwater Bay International Baptist Church. KIBC members have undertaken mission ventures in China, Cambodia, Mongolia, Myanmar, and the Philippines in fulfillment of the broad vision God has given to them. In keeping with this dedication to evangelism, Kowloon International Baptist Church has partnered with the BWA to establish this Evangelism Award and generously provide its funding.

In addition to a focus on mission and evangelism, the BWA stands in support of religious freedom, human rights, and justice. To recognize leadership in this area, the long-standing Congress Quinquennial Human Rights Award is given for a lifetime of achievement to an individual who has shown significant accomplishments in global advocacy for human rights and the pursuit of social justice and peace.

It is awarded every five years, and past awardees include:

  • Raúl Scialabba, Argentina (2021)
  • Corneille Gato Munyamasoko, Rwanda (2015)
  • Denton Lotz, USA (2010)
  • Lauran Bethell, USA (2005)
  • Saw Simon, Myanmar (2000)
  • Jimmy Carter, USA (1995)

Denton & Janice Lotz Annual Human Rights Award

Established in 2006, the Denton and Janice Lotz Human Rights Award is given by the BWA for significant and effective activities to secure, protect, restore or preserve human rights. It includes all rights stated in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and other declared rights by United Nations bodies such as the General Assembly, the Security Council, the Economic and Social Council, the Trusteeship Council, and the International Court of Justice.

  • 2023: Mona Khauli (Lebanon)
  • 2022: Daniel Buttry (USA)
  • 2019: Burchel Taylor (Jamaica)
  • 2018: Christer Daelander (Sweden)
  • 2017: Cynthia Maung (Myanmar/Thailand)
  • 2014: Ilie Coada (Moldova)
  • 2013: Glen Stassen (United States)
  • 2012: Edgar Palacios (El Salvador)
  • 2011: Wati Aier (India)
  • 2009: Leena Lavanya (India)
  • 2008: Dennis Datta (Bangladesh)
  • 2007: João and Nora Matwawana (Angola)
  • 2006: Gustavo Parajón (Nicaragua)



Janice Lotz (USA) and Baptist World Alliance President Paul Msiza (South Africa) present Rev. Dr. Burchel Taylor with the 2019 Denton and Janice Lotz Human Rights Award at the 2019 Baptist World Alliance Annual Gathering in Nassau, The Bahamas.


Christer Daelander of Sweden receives the 2018 Denton and Janice Lotz Human Rights Award at the 2018 Baptist World Alliance Annual Gathering in Zürich, Switzerland.