Resolution zur Religionsfreiheit in der Region Lugansk in der Ostukraine

Logo des Baptistischen Weltbundes

BWA-Generalratsbeschluss 2018.1

Der Generalrat des Baptistischen Weltbundes, der vom 2. bis 6. Juli 2018 in Zürich, Schweiz, tagt:

bringt seine Besorgnis darüber zum Ausdruck, dass die Situation für Religionsgemeinschaften im östlichen Teil der Ukraine - in der Region Lugansk - prekär ist. Die Region ist Teil eines Konfliktgebiets, das jetzt nach allgemeiner Auffassung unter der Kontrolle Russlands steht, das das Gebiet als "Lugansker Volksrepublik (LPR)" anerkannt hat. Vor kurzem hat die LPR ein Religionsgesetz (LPR-Gesetz #211-II "Über die Freiheit des Gewissens und der religiösen Vereinigungen") vom 02.02.2018 eingeführt. Dieses Gesetz verletzt die allgemeinen Menschenrechte, schränkt die Religionsfreiheit ein und bedroht die Existenz bestehender religiöser Gruppen und Organisationsnetzwerke;

BEDAUERT, dass alle religiösen Organisationen innerhalb der LPR, mit Ausnahme des Moskauer Patriarchats der Russisch-Orthodoxen Kirche (ROC), nun ihre Loyalität gegenüber den LPR-Behörden durch ein erneutes Registrierungsverfahren nachweisen müssen, um ihren rechtlichen Status zu erhalten. Dies schließt die Verpflichtung für alle religiösen Organisationen ein, detailliert über ihre Aktivitäten zu berichten;

STELLT fest, dass diese Einschränkungen und Regelungen gegen Artikel 18 der Allgemeinen Erklärung der Menschenrechte, Artikel 18 der Internationalen Konvention über bürgerliche und politische Rechte und Artikel 9 der Europäischen Menschenrechtskonvention verstoßen;

BEKRÄFTIGT unser Bekenntnis als Baptisten zu dem biblischen Konzept, dass alle Menschen nach Gottes Ebenbild geschaffen und mit der Freiheit ausgestattet sind, ihre Religion nach dem Diktat ihres eigenen Herzens anzubeten und auszuüben;

DRÄNGT die Volksrepublik Lugansk, in Bezug auf die Baptisten und andere Kirchen das Gesetz zu ändern, um es mit der Religions- und Glaubensfreiheit, wie sie in den internationalen Erklärungen, Konventionen und Abkommen festgelegt ist, in Einklang zu bringen;

ERMUTIGT die Russische Republik, auf die Volksrepublik Lugansk einzuwirken, das Gesetz so zu ändern, dass es mit der vollen Religions- und Glaubensfreiheit vereinbar ist; und

APPELLIERT an den Sonderberichterstatter der Vereinten Nationen für Religions- und Glaubensfreiheit, Informationen über die Situation in der Region Lugansk zu sammeln und das Gebiet Lugansk sowie die Behörden zu besuchen, um Druck auf sie auszuüben, damit sie das Gesetz ändern.

Zitate

Originalquellen-Bibliografie: Brown, Elijah M., Herausgeber. Baptist World Alliance 2018 Yearbook: Minutes of the General Council Meeting and Directory. Falls Church, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 2018.

Originalquelle Fußnote/Endnote: Elijah M. Brown, Hrsg., Baptist World Alliance 2018 Yearbook: Minutes of the General Council Meeting and Directory (Falls Church, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 2018), S. 149.

Online-Dokument Vollzitat: BWA General Council Resolution 2018.1 Resolution zur Religionsfreiheit in der Region Lugansk in der Ostukraine; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

Im-Text-Online-Zitat: (BWA-Generalratsbeschluss 2018.1).

Weitere Informationen zu den Resolutionen der Baptist World Alliance finden Sie unter BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 1905 hat die Baptistische Weltallianz die weltweite Baptistenfamilie vernetzt, um die Welt für Christus zu beeinflussen, mit der Verpflichtung, Gottesdienst, Gemeinschaft und Einheit zu stärken, in Mission und Evangelisation voranzugehen, Menschen in Not durch Hilfe, Nothilfe und Gemeindeentwicklung zu helfen, Religionsfreiheit, Menschenrechte und Gerechtigkeit zu verteidigen und theologische Reflexion und Leitungsentwicklung voranzutreiben.

Neueste Nachrichten

Resolution on Freedom of Religion in the Lugansk Region in Eastern Ukraine

Baptist World Alliance Logo

BWA General Council Resolution 2018.1

The Baptist World Alliance General Council, meeting in Zurich, Switzerland, July 2-6, 2018:

EXPRESSES concern that that the situation for religious communities is precarious in the eastern part of Ukraine – the Lugansk region. The region is part of a conflict area now widely understood to be under the control of Russia, which has recognized the area as “The Lugansk Peoples Republic (LPR).” Recently the LPR launched a law on religion (LPR law #211-II “On the freedom of conscience and religious associations”) from 02/02/2018. This law violates universal human rights, restricts religious freedom, and threatens the existence of existing religious groups and organizational networks;

REGRETS that all religious organizations within the LPR, except the Moscow Patriarchate of the Russian Orthodox Church (ROC), must now prove their loyalty to LPR authorities through a re- registration procedure in order to maintain their legal status. This includes an obligation for all religious organizations to report in detail their activities;

NOTES that these limitations and regulations are violating Article 18 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, Article 18 of the International Convention of Civil and Political Rights, and Article 9 of the European Convention on Human Rights;

AFFIRMS our commitment as Baptists to the biblical concept that all people are created in God’s image and endowed with freedom to worship and practice their religion according to the dictates of their own hearts;

URGES the Lugansk Peoples Republic, regarding Baptist and other churches, to change the law in order to make it compatible with Freedom of Religion or Belief as stated in the international declarations, conventions, and agreements;

ENCOURAGES the Russian Republic to influence the Lugansk Peoples Republic to change the law in order to make it compatible with full Freedom of Religion or Belief; and

CALLS upon the United Nations Special Rapporteur on Freedom of Religion or Belief to gather information on the situation in the Lugansk region and to visit the Lugansk area and the authorities in order to put pressure on them to change the law.

Citations

Original Source Bibliography: Brown, Elijah M., editor. Baptist World Alliance 2018 Yearbook: Minutes of the General Council Meeting and Directory. Falls Church, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 2018.

Original Source Footnote/Endnote: Elijah M. Brown, ed., Baptist World Alliance 2018 Yearbook: Minutes of the General Council Meeting and Directory (Falls Church, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 2018), p. 149.

Online Document Full Citation: BWA General Council Resolution 2018.1 Resolution on Freedom of Religion in the Lugansk region in eastern Ukraine; https://o7e.4a3.myftpupload.com/resolutions.

In-text Online Document Citation: (BWA General Council Resolution 2018.1).

For more information about Baptist World Alliance resolutions, visit BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Since its formation in 1905, the Baptist World Alliance has networked the global Baptist family to impact the world for Christ with a commitment to strengthen worship, fellowship and unity; lead in mission and evangelism; respond to people in need through aid, relief, and community development; defend religious freedom, human rights, and justice; and advance theological reflection and leadership development.

Latest News

2022 BWA Annual Gathering Focused on Racial Justice

(BIRMINGHAM, AL – July 22, 2022) The thematic focus and content development for the Gathering was largely facilitated by the BWA Racial Justice Action Group launched in October 2020 with unanimous affirmation from the BWA Executive Committee. Co-chaired by BWA General Secretary Elijah M. Brown and BWA First Vice President Karl Johnson from Jamaica, the Action Group embarked on a two-year journey

Executive Committee Releases Statement on Ukrainian Crisis

(FALLS CHURCH, VIRGINIA, USA – March 25, 2022) In conjunction with its Executive Committee meetings conducted this month, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) Executive Committee has released a joint statement in response to the crisis in Eastern Europe. This is the first statement of its kind released by the Executive Committee in over 40 years.