宗教自由和灵魂自由

Baptist World Alliance Logo

BWA执行委员会决议1920-07.3

由克利福德博士、穆林斯校长和特鲁伊特博士起草的关于宗教自由的决议获得通过,其形式如下

"本机构认为,在世界大战后世界各国公民和宗教生活的重建和调整时期,最重要的是应给予所有现在不享有宗教自由的民族以充分的宗教自由。我们敦促这样做,是因为地球上的许多人为了按照自己的良知崇拜上帝的特权进行了长期而悲惨的斗争;因为目前各国都有机会制定新的宪法和新的法律;最重要的是,因为每个人都有不可剥夺的、上帝赋予的权利,可以在所有宗教问题上自由行使自己的思想和良知。

"历代浸信会信徒都在争夺灵魂自由。这应与宗教宽容截然不同,宗教宽容只是一个群体对其他群体的一种让步。宗教自由使所有的人在上帝面前和与人类政府的关系中处于完全相同的地位。因此,我们呼吁世界各国政府不再拖延,将这一无价的人权制定为法律"。

关键词

BWA; 良心; 宗教自由; 灵魂自由。

引用

原始来源参考书目: 世界浸信会联盟。执行委员会和其他浸信会代表的会议记录,在浸信会教堂大楼,南安普顿街,伦敦,W.C.1举行。至23rd 1920年7月。 伦敦:世界浸信会联盟,1920年。

原始资料脚注/尾注:世界浸信会联盟。执行委员会和其他浸信会代表的会议记录,在浸信会教堂大楼,南安普顿街,伦敦,W.C.1举行,从19至23rd 1920年7月 (London: Baptist World Alliance, 1920), pp.10-11。

在线文档全文引用。 BWA执行委员会决议1920-07.3 宗教自由和灵魂自由; https://o7e.4a3.myftpupload.com/resolutions.

文中在线文档引用。 BWA执行委员会决议1920-07.3)。

有关浸信会世界联盟决议的更多信息,请访问 BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

自1905年成立以来,世界浸信会联盟将全球浸信会大家庭联系起来,为基督影响世界,致力于加强敬拜、团契和团结;领导宣教和传福音;通过援助、救济和社区发展对有需要的人作出回应;捍卫宗教自由、人权和正义;并推动神学反思和领导力发展。

最新资讯

2022年妇女事务局年度会议聚焦种族公正问题

(BIRMINGHAM, AL - July 22, 2022) 这次聚会的主题重点和内容发展主要是由2020年10月经妇女事务局执行委员会一致确认成立的妇女事务局种族正义行动小组推动的。行动小组由妇女事务局总书记埃利亚-M-布朗和妇女事务局第一副主席、来自牙买加的卡尔-约翰逊共同担任主席,开始了为期两年的旅程

世界浸信会联盟发起全球福音活动

在大使命的驱使下,世界浸信会联盟(BWA)长期致力于福音事业,根植于与其他信徒合作,在每个地方和所有人群中活出福音见证的呼吁。

执行委员会发布关于乌克兰危机的声明

(美国弗吉尼亚州瀑布镇-2022年3月25日)结合本月举行的执行委员会会议,世界浸信会联盟(BWA)执行委员会发布了一份联合声明,以回应东欧的危机。这是执行委员会40多年来发布的第一个此类声明。

Religious Liberty and Soul Freedom

Baptist World Alliance Logo

BWA Executive Committee Resolution 1920-07.3

A resolution on Religious Liberty, drawn up by Dr. Clifford, President Mullins and Dr. Truett, was passed in the following form:—

“It is the sense of this body that in this period of reconstruction and readjustment in the civil and religious life of the nations of the world, following the world-war, it is of the highest importance that full religious liberty should be granted to all peoples who do not now enjoy it. We urge this in view of the long and tragic struggles of many people of the earth for the privilege of worshipping God according to the dictates of their own consciences; in view of the present opportunity in the enactment of new constitutions and new laws in various nations; and most of all in view of the inalienable and God-given right of every human being to the free exercise of his mind and conscience in all matters of religion.

“Baptists throughout the ages contended for soul freedom. This is to be sharply distinguished from religious toleration, which is merely a concession by one group of men to others. Religious liberty places all men on exactly the same basis before God and in relation to human governments. We therefore call upon the governments of the world to delay no longer in enacting into law this priceless human right.”

Keywords

BWA; Conscience; Religious Liberty; Soul Freedom.

Citations

Original Source Bibliography: Baptist World Alliance: Minutes of Executive Committee, and Other Representative Baptists, Held at the Baptist Church House, Southampton Row, London, W.C. 1., From 19th to 23rd July, 1920. London: Baptist World Alliance, 1920.

Original Source Footnote/Endnote: Baptist World Alliance: Minutes of Executive Committee, and Other Representative Baptists, Held at the Baptist Church House, Southampton Row, London, W.C. 1., From 19th to 23rd July, 1920 (London: Baptist World Alliance, 1920), pp. 10-11.

Online Document Full Citation: BWA Executive Committee Resolution 1920-07.3 Religious Liberty and Soul Freedom; https://o7e.4a3.myftpupload.com/resolutions.

In-text Online Document Citation: (BWA Executive Committee Resolution 1920-07.3).

For more information about Baptist World Alliance resolutions, visit BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Since its formation in 1905, the Baptist World Alliance has networked the global Baptist family to impact the world for Christ with a commitment to strengthen worship, fellowship and unity; lead in mission and evangelism; respond to people in need through aid, relief, and community development; defend religious freedom, human rights, and justice; and advance theological reflection and leadership development.

Latest News

2022 BWA Annual Gathering Focused on Racial Justice

(BIRMINGHAM, AL – July 22, 2022) The thematic focus and content development for the Gathering was largely facilitated by the BWA Racial Justice Action Group launched in October 2020 with unanimous affirmation from the BWA Executive Committee. Co-chaired by BWA General Secretary Elijah M. Brown and BWA First Vice President Karl Johnson from Jamaica, the Action Group embarked on a two-year journey

Executive Committee Releases Statement on Ukrainian Crisis

(FALLS CHURCH, VIRGINIA, USA – March 25, 2022) In conjunction with its Executive Committee meetings conducted this month, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) Executive Committee has released a joint statement in response to the crisis in Eastern Europe. This is the first statement of its kind released by the Executive Committee in over 40 years.