Versöhnung und Rassendiskriminierung

Logo des Baptistischen Weltbundes

BWA-Weltkongress-Resolution 1970.2

In Berlin 1934, in Atlanta 1939, in Kopenhagen 1947, in Cleveland 1950, in London 1955, in Rio de Janeiro 1960 und in Miami Beach 1965 hat der Baptistische Weltbund seinen Widerstand gegen Rassendiskriminierung und ihre Muttergesellschaft, den Rassismus, zum Ausdruck gebracht, der das Übel ist, Menschen aufgrund ihrer unterschiedlichen Hautfarbe oder Kultur zu betrachten, anstatt sie als Kinder Gottes zu betrachten. Die Tatsache, dass wir uns hier in Tokio 1970 erneut gegen dieses Übel wenden müssen, ist ein Beweis dafür, wie hartnäckig und tief verwurzelt diese Praxis im menschlichen Denken und Handeln ist.

Wir Baptisten sehen jede Form von Rassismus als eine Ablehnung der Lehren Jesu Christi und als ein Versäumnis anzuerkennen, dass unser himmlischer Vater seine Kinder in Vielfalt geschaffen hat, mit dem Willen, dass alle gleichermaßen an seiner Liebe teilhaben, an der Achtung voreinander und an den Segnungen der Erde, die die Gaben seiner Hand sind.

Wir Baptisten beklagen und bereuen die Sünden des Rassismus, die es in einigen unserer eigenen Gotteshäuser und in einigen unserer jeweiligen Gemeinden und Nationen gegeben hat und immer noch gibt. Wir verpflichten uns, in unseren eigenen Kirchen, Konventen und Gewerkschaften und auch in der gesamten Gesellschaft für die völlige Beseitigung jeder Spur von Rassismus und jener Diskriminierungen und Unterdrückungen zu arbeiten, die seine Ausläufer sind.

Zitate

Originalquellen-Bibliografie: Bryant, Cyril E., Herausgeber. Versöhnung durch Christus: Offizieller Bericht des zwölften Kongresses, Tokio, Japan, 12. bis 18. Juli 1970. Valley Forge: Judson Press, 1971.

Originalquelle Fußnote/Endnote: Cyril E. Bryant, Hrsg., Versöhnung durch Christus: Offizieller Bericht des zwölften Kongresses, Tokio, Japan, 12. bis 18. Juli 1970 (Valley Forge: Judson Press, 1971), S. 252.

Online-Dokument Vollzitat: BWA-Weltkongress-Resolution 1970.2 Versöhnung und Rassendiskriminierung; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

Im-Text-Online-Zitation: (BWA-Weltkongress 1970.2).

Weitere Informationen zu den Resolutionen der Baptist World Alliance finden Sie unter BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 1905 hat die Baptistische Weltallianz die weltweite Baptistenfamilie vernetzt, um die Welt für Christus zu beeinflussen, mit der Verpflichtung, Gottesdienst, Gemeinschaft und Einheit zu stärken, in Mission und Evangelisation voranzugehen, Menschen in Not durch Hilfe, Nothilfe und Gemeindeentwicklung zu helfen, Religionsfreiheit, Menschenrechte und Gerechtigkeit zu verteidigen und theologische Reflexion und Leitungsentwicklung voranzutreiben.

Neueste Nachrichten

Reconciliation and Racial Discrimination

Baptist World Alliance Logo

BWA World Congress Resolution 1970.2

At Berlin in 1934, at Atlanta in 1939, at Copenhagen in 1947, at Cleveland in 1950, at London in 1955, at Rio de Janeiro in 1960, and at Miami Beach in 1965 the Baptist World Alliance registered its opposition to racial discrimination and its parent, racism, which is the evil of looking at men in terms of their differences of color or culture rather than their oneness as children of God. The fact that here again in Tokyo in 1970 we are obliged to address ourselves to this evil is evidence of how stubborn and deeply ingrained this prac-tice is in human thought and action.

We Baptists see any and all forms of racism as a repudiation of the teachings of Jesus Christ and as a failure to recognize that our Heavenly Father has created his children in diversity, willing that all share equally in his love, in regard for each other and in the blessings of the earth which are the gifts of his hand.

We Baptists lament the presence of and repent for the sins of racism that have existed, and still exist, in some of our own places of worship and in some of our respective communities and nations. We pledge ourselves to labor within our own churches, conventions, and unions and also in the whole of society for the total elimination of every vestige of racism and those discriminations and oppressions which are its offsprings.

Citations

Original Source Bibliography: Bryant, Cyril E., editor. Reconciliation Through Christ: Official Report of the Twelfth Congress, Tokyo, Japan, July 12-18, 1970. Valley Forge: Judson Press, 1971.

Original Source Footnote/Endnote: Cyril E. Bryant, ed., Reconciliation Through Christ: Official Report of the Twelfth Congress, Tokyo, Japan, July 12-18, 1970 (Valley Forge: Judson Press, 1971), p. 252.

Online Document Full Citation: BWA World Congress Resolution 1970.2 Reconciliation and Racial Discrimination; https://o7e.4a3.myftpupload.com/resolutions.

In-text Online Document Citation: (BWA World Congress 1970.2).

For more information about Baptist World Alliance resolutions, visit BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Since its formation in 1905, the Baptist World Alliance has networked the global Baptist family to impact the world for Christ with a commitment to strengthen worship, fellowship and unity; lead in mission and evangelism; respond to people in need through aid, relief, and community development; defend religious freedom, human rights, and justice; and advance theological reflection and leadership development.

Latest News

2022 BWA Annual Gathering Focused on Racial Justice

(BIRMINGHAM, AL – July 22, 2022) The thematic focus and content development for the Gathering was largely facilitated by the BWA Racial Justice Action Group launched in October 2020 with unanimous affirmation from the BWA Executive Committee. Co-chaired by BWA General Secretary Elijah M. Brown and BWA First Vice President Karl Johnson from Jamaica, the Action Group embarked on a two-year journey

Executive Committee Releases Statement on Ukrainian Crisis

(FALLS CHURCH, VIRGINIA, USA – March 25, 2022) In conjunction with its Executive Committee meetings conducted this month, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) Executive Committee has released a joint statement in response to the crisis in Eastern Europe. This is the first statement of its kind released by the Executive Committee in over 40 years.