1965 Manifest des BWA-Weltkongresses

Baptist World Alliance Logo

Manifest zu Religionsfreiheit und Menschenrechten

(Verabschiedet vom Kongress am Sonntagabend, 27. Juni)

I. WIR DANKEN GOTT für die größeren Möglichkeiten, die vielen Männern, Frauen und Kindern für ein erfülltes, gesundes und freies Leben gegeben wurden; für die zunehmende Beherrschung der Kräfte der Natur und ihre Nutzung für das Gemeinwohl; für neue Möglichkeiten der Bildung, der Kommunikation und des Reisens; für die Abnahme der Diskriminierung aufgrund von Rasse oder Glauben; und für größere bürgerliche und religiöse Freiheit in vielen Teilen der Welt.

II. WIR BEKRÄFTIGEN unseren Glauben, dass das Evangelium von Gottes freier Erlösung in seinem Sohn Jesus Christus, dem Weg, der Wahrheit und dem Leben, für alle Menschen ohne Unterschied gilt und dass es heute wie in früheren Generationen zu allen Bedürfnissen des Menschen spricht, indem es überführt, erlöst, verwandelt, den menschlichen Geist bewahrt und die Beendigung von Ausbeutung und Tyrannei sowie die Bereitstellung voller Möglichkeiten für seine freie Annahme und für Anbetung, Zeugnis und Dienst fordert.

III. WIR LEIDEN mit unserer Generation in und durch die Vernachlässigung Gottes und die Beschäftigung mit egoistischen Zielen; im Missbrauch vieler Möglichkeiten und Kräfte; im Versagen, menschliche und materielle Ressourcen angemessen zu mobilisieren, um die Bedürfnisse der Menschen zu befriedigen; in der Duldung einer Politik, die grundlegende Menschenrechte verweigert und Leid über Einzelne und Gemeinschaften bringt; in der mangelnden Sorge um diejenigen, die aus ihrer Heimat vertrieben, um des Gewissens willen eingesperrt und an Körper, Geist und Seele verkümmert sind.

IV. WIR APPELLIEREN an unsere Mitbaptisten und unsere Mitchristen überall, in diesen Fragen Besorgnis zu zeigen; zu studieren, was die Lehre Christi für die Freiheit und Würde des Menschen bedeutet; dies in ihren Beziehungen zueinander zu manifestieren, sowohl individuell als auch gemeinschaftlich, und der Welt die versöhnende und befreiende Botschaft der Liebe Gottes zu deuten. Wir APPELLIEREN an die Regierungen aller Länder, nicht nur Recht und Ordnung zu bewahren, sondern auch die religiöse und bürgerliche Freiheit und das Recht der Menschen anzuerkennen und zu garantieren, die religiöse Zugehörigkeit beizubehalten oder zu wechseln und frei zu verehren, zu bezeugen, zu lehren und zu dienen.

Stichwörter

BWA; Gewissen; Diskriminierung; Gleichheit; Freiheit; Menschenrechte; Hunger; Gerechtigkeit; Frieden; Vorurteile; Rassismus; Religionsfreiheit; Versöhnung; Krieg.

Zitate

Originalquellen-Bibliografie: Nordenhaug, Josef, Herausgeber. The Truth That Makes Men Free: Offizieller Bericht des elften Kongresses, Miami Beach, Florida, U.S.A., 25. bis 30. Juni 1965. Nashville: Broadman Press, 1966.

Originalquelle Fußnote/Endnote: Josef Nordenhaug, ed., The Truth That Makes Men Free: Offizieller Bericht des elften Kongresses, Miami Beach, Florida, U.S.A., 25-30. Juni 1965 (Nashville: Broadman Press, 1966), S. 482.

Online-Dokument Vollzitat: 1965 BWA-Weltkongress Manifest zu Religionsfreiheit und Menschenrechten; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

Im-Text-Online-Zitation: (BWA-Weltkongress 1965 Manifest).
Weitere Informationen zu den Resolutionen der Baptist World Alliance finden Sie unter BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 1905 hat die Baptistische Weltallianz die weltweite Baptistenfamilie vernetzt, um die Welt für Christus zu beeinflussen, mit der Verpflichtung, Gottesdienst, Gemeinschaft und Einheit zu stärken, in Mission und Evangelisation voranzugehen, Menschen in Not durch Hilfe, Nothilfe und Gemeindeentwicklung zu helfen, Religionsfreiheit, Menschenrechte und Gerechtigkeit zu verteidigen und theologische Reflexion und Leitungsentwicklung voranzutreiben.

Weitere Informationen zu den Resolutionen der Baptist World Alliance finden Sie unter BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 1905 hat die Baptistische Weltallianz die weltweite Baptistenfamilie vernetzt, um die Welt für Christus zu beeinflussen, mit der Verpflichtung, Gottesdienst, Gemeinschaft und Einheit zu stärken, in Mission und Evangelisation voranzugehen, Menschen in Not durch Hilfe, Nothilfe und Gemeindeentwicklung zu helfen, Religionsfreiheit, Menschenrechte und Gerechtigkeit zu verteidigen und theologische Reflexion und Leitungsentwicklung voranzutreiben.

Neueste Nachrichten

1965 BWA World Congress Manifesto

Baptist World Alliance Logo

Manifesto on Religious Liberty and Human Rights

(Adopted by the Congress Sunday evening, June 27)

I. WE THANK GOD for the greater opportunities given to many men, women, and children for a full, healthy, and free life; for the increasing mastery over the powers of nature and their use for the common good; for new facilities for education, communication and travel; for the decrease of discrimination because of race or creed; and for greater civil and religious liberty in many parts of the world.

II. WE REAFFIRM our faith that the gospel of God’s free salvation in His Son, Jesus Christ, the Way, the Truth, and the Life, is for all men, without distinction, and that today as in previous generations it speaks to man’s every need, convicting, redeeming, transforming, guarding the human spirit and requiring the ending of exploitation and tyranny, and the provision of full opportunities for its free acceptance and for worship, witness, and service.

III. WE SUFFER with our generation in and through the neglect of God and preoccupation with selfish ends; in the misuse of many opportunities and powers; in failure adequately to mobilize human and material resources to meet men’s needs; in acquiescence in policies which deny basic human rights and bring suffering to individuals and communities; in lack of concern for those driven from their homes, imprisoned for conscience sake, and stunted in body, mind, and spirit.

IV. WE APPEAL to our fellow Baptists and our fellow Christians everywhere to show concern in these matters; to study what the teaching of Christ implies for human freedom and dignity; to manifest this in their relations with one another, both individual and corporate, and to interpret to the world the reconciling and liberating message of God’s love. We APPEAL to the governments of all lands, not only to preserve law and order, but also to recognize and guarantee religious and civil liberty and the right of men to maintain or change religious allegiance and freely to worship, witness, teach, and serve.

Keywords

BWA; Conscience; Discrimination; Equality; Freedom; Human Rights; Hunger; Justice; Peace; Prejudice; Racism; Religious Freedom; Reconciliation; Religious Liberty; War.

Citations

Original Source Bibliography: Nordenhaug, Josef, editor. The Truth That Makes Men Free: Official Report of the Eleventh Congress, Miami Beach, Florida, U.S.A., June 25-30, 1965. Nashville: Broadman Press, 1966.

Original Source Footnote/Endnote: Josef Nordenhaug, ed., The Truth That Makes Men Free: Official Report of the Eleventh Congress, Miami Beach, Florida, U.S.A., June 25-30, 1965 (Nashville: Broadman Press, 1966), p. 482.

Online Document Full Citation: 1965 BWA World Congress Manifesto on Religious Liberty and Human Rights; https://o7e.4a3.myftpupload.com/resolutions.

In-text Online Document Citation: (1965 BWA World Congress Manifesto).
For more information about Baptist World Alliance resolutions, visit BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Since its formation in 1905, the Baptist World Alliance has networked the global Baptist family to impact the world for Christ with a commitment to strengthen worship, fellowship and unity; lead in mission and evangelism; respond to people in need through aid, relief, and community development; defend religious freedom, human rights, and justice; and advance theological reflection and leadership development.

For more information about Baptist World Alliance resolutions, visit BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Since its formation in 1905, the Baptist World Alliance has networked the global Baptist family to impact the world for Christ with a commitment to strengthen worship, fellowship and unity; lead in mission and evangelism; respond to people in need through aid, relief, and community development; defend religious freedom, human rights, and justice; and advance theological reflection and leadership development.

Latest News

2022 BWA Annual Gathering Focused on Racial Justice

(BIRMINGHAM, AL – July 22, 2022) The thematic focus and content development for the Gathering was largely facilitated by the BWA Racial Justice Action Group launched in October 2020 with unanimous affirmation from the BWA Executive Committee. Co-chaired by BWA General Secretary Elijah M. Brown and BWA First Vice President Karl Johnson from Jamaica, the Action Group embarked on a two-year journey

Executive Committee Releases Statement on Ukrainian Crisis

(FALLS CHURCH, VIRGINIA, USA – March 25, 2022) In conjunction with its Executive Committee meetings conducted this month, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) Executive Committee has released a joint statement in response to the crisis in Eastern Europe. This is the first statement of its kind released by the Executive Committee in over 40 years.