Unfreiwillige Abnahme von Fingerabdrücken von Roma in Italien

Logo des Baptistischen Weltbundes

BWA-Generalratsbeschluss 2008.8

Die Generalversammlung des Baptistischen Weltbundes, die vom 20. bis 25. Juli 2008 in Prag, Tschechische Republik, tagte;

beklagt, dass die italienische Regierung ohne Einspruch der Europäischen Union die unfreiwillige Abnahme von Fingerabdrücken aller Roma innerhalb ihrer Grenzen, einschließlich der Kinder, praktiziert, was wir als ethnisches Profiling betrachten;

erkennt an, dass es legitime Gründe für die Registrierung von Menschen geben kann, erkennt aber auch an, dass die Geschichte uns gelehrt hat, dass die Auswahl, Isolierung und gezielte Bekämpfung einer Minderheitengruppe oder eines Volkes auf der Grundlage von Kultur, ethnischer Zugehörigkeit oder Rasse diskriminierende Praktiken sind, die Gewalttaten rechtfertigen;

Erinnert daran, dass das Volk der Roma in der Geschichte viele Male ins Visier genommen und verfolgt wurde, bis hin zum Völkermord, den das Nazi-Regime an ihnen verübte;

bekräftigt, dass Baptisten weltweit gegen jede Form von Diskriminierung und für die Wahrung der Würde und der Menschenrechte aller Menschen eintreten, und stellt in diesem Zusammenhang fest, dass sich der Christlich-Evangelische Baptistenbund Italiens entschieden gegen die obligatorische Abnahme von Fingerabdrücken von Roma ausgesprochen hat;

fordert alle Leiter innerhalb des Baptistischen Weltbundes auf, Vertreter der Vereinten Nationen, der Europäischen Union und der nationalen Regierungen aufzufordern, bei der italienischen Regierung gegen diese diskriminierende Praxis zu protestieren und ihre sofortige Beendigung nachdrücklich zu fordern.

Zitate

Originalquellen-Bibliografie: Callam, Neville, Herausgeber. Jahrbuch des Baptistischen Weltbundes 2008: Protokoll der Generalratssitzung und Verzeichnis. Falls Church, VA: Baptistischer Weltbund, 2008.

Originalquelle Fußnote/Endnote: Neville Callam, ed., Jahrbuch des Baptistischen Weltbundes 2008: Protokoll der Generalratssitzung und Verzeichnis (Falls Church, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 2008), S. 135- 136.

Online-Dokument Vollzitat: BWA-Generalratsbeschluss 2008.8 Unfreiwillige Abnahme von Fingerabdrücken von Roma in Italien; https://www.baptistworld.org/resolutions.

Im-Text-Online-Zitation: (BWA General Council Resolution 2008.8).

Weitere Informationen zu den Resolutionen der Baptist World Alliance finden Sie unter BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 1905 hat die Baptistische Weltallianz die weltweite Baptistenfamilie vernetzt, um die Welt für Christus zu beeinflussen, mit der Verpflichtung, Gottesdienst, Gemeinschaft und Einheit zu stärken, in Mission und Evangelisation voranzugehen, Menschen in Not durch Hilfe, Nothilfe und Gemeindeentwicklung zu helfen, Religionsfreiheit, Menschenrechte und Gerechtigkeit zu verteidigen und theologische Reflexion und Leitungsentwicklung voranzutreiben.

Neueste Nachrichten

Involuntary Fingerprinting of Roma People in Italy

Baptist World Alliance Logo

BWA General Council Resolution 2008.8

The General Council of the Baptist World Alliance, meeting in Prague, Czech Republic, July 20- 25, 2008;

Laments that the Italian government, without objection of the European Union, is practicing the involuntary fingerprinting of all Roma people within its borders, including children, which we regard as ethnic profiling;

Acknowledges that there can be legitimate reasons for registering people, but recognizes that history has taught us that selecting, isolating and targeting a minority group or a people on the basis of culture, ethnicity, or race are discriminatory practices that justify acts of violence;

Recalls that the Roma people were targeted and persecuted many times in history leading to the genocide perpetrated against them by the Nazi regime;

Affirms that Baptists worldwide stand against all forms of discrimination and for the safeguarding of the dignity and human rights of all human beings, and in this context notes that the Christian Evangelical Baptist Union of Italy has strongly opposed the compulsory fingerprinting of Roma people;

Calls on all leaders within the Baptist World Alliance to urge representatives of the United Nations, European Union and national governments to issue a strong protest to the Italian government against such discriminatory practice and firmly request its immediate cessation.

Citations

Original Source Bibliography: Callam, Neville, editor. Baptist World Alliance 2008 Yearbook: Minutes of the General Council Meeting and Directory. Falls Church, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 2008.

Original Source Footnote/Endnote: Neville Callam, ed., Baptist World Alliance 2008 Yearbook: Minutes of the General Council Meeting and Directory (Falls Church, VA: Baptist World Alliance, 2008), pp. 135- 136.

Online Document Full Citation: BWA General Council Resolution 2008.8 Involuntary Fingerprinting of Roma People in Italy; https://o7e.4a3.myftpupload.com/resolutions.

In-text Online Document Citation: (BWA General Council Resolution 2008.8).

For more information about Baptist World Alliance resolutions, visit BaptistWorld.org/resolutions.

Since its formation in 1905, the Baptist World Alliance has networked the global Baptist family to impact the world for Christ with a commitment to strengthen worship, fellowship and unity; lead in mission and evangelism; respond to people in need through aid, relief, and community development; defend religious freedom, human rights, and justice; and advance theological reflection and leadership development.

Latest News

2022 BWA Annual Gathering Focused on Racial Justice

(BIRMINGHAM, AL – July 22, 2022) The thematic focus and content development for the Gathering was largely facilitated by the BWA Racial Justice Action Group launched in October 2020 with unanimous affirmation from the BWA Executive Committee. Co-chaired by BWA General Secretary Elijah M. Brown and BWA First Vice President Karl Johnson from Jamaica, the Action Group embarked on a two-year journey

Executive Committee Releases Statement on Ukrainian Crisis

(FALLS CHURCH, VIRGINIA, USA – March 25, 2022) In conjunction with its Executive Committee meetings conducted this month, the Baptist World Alliance (BWA) Executive Committee has released a joint statement in response to the crisis in Eastern Europe. This is the first statement of its kind released by the Executive Committee in over 40 years.