News & Updates2015 Quinquennial Award Nomination | Nomination Form | Former Quinquennial Winners |

Human Rights Award | Former Human Rights Award Winners


News & Updates

Denton and Janice Lotz Human Rights Award

The BWA is proud to announce the winner of this years Denton and Janice Lotz Human Rights Award: Christer Daelander of Sweden. Click here for press release.

The 2019 Baptist World Alliance Denton and Janice Lotz Annual Human Rights Award nomination process is now OPEN.

The Baptist World Alliance Denton and Janice Lotz Annual Human Rights Award, established in 2006, is given annually for significant and effective activities to secure, protect, restore, or preserve human rights – those rights inherent in our nature as human beings. For purposes of the Award, the term “human rights” includes all those rights stated in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, and such other rights as may be declared in actions by any of the following organs of the United Nations: General Assembly, Security Council, Economic & Social Council, Trusteeship Council, and International Court of Justice (i.e. Declaration on the Rights of the Child). 

Nomination Form (PDF)
(If you’d like to receive the form as a Word document, please email

All nominations must be received by Friday, November 30, 2018.

Nominations can be submitted via the PDF form and sent to BWA Nominations by fax, mail, or email. Instructions on how to print and submit in one of these methods can be found at the top of the nomination form.



E-mail:  Fax: +1 703 893 5160  Postal: 405 NORTH WASHINGTON STREET, FALLS CHURCH, VA 22046, UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

United Nations Declaration of Human Rights


Past Awardees

2018: Christer Daelander, of Sweden, is an official BWA representative to the UN Human Rights Office in Geneva, Switzerland, working closely with representatives from the Vatican and other Christian traditions. He has engaged religious freedom issues in Europe, the Middle East and, especially, Central Asia. Click here for press release.

2017: Cynthia Maung, a medical doctor from Myanmar (Burma), spent nearly 30 years treating refugees who fled “oppression and repression in Myanmar.” Click here for press release.

2014: Ilie Coada, a Baptist pastor in Moldova, who worked tirelessly against human trafficking and the sex trade in his country.

2013: Glen Stassen for his longtime role as the foremost proponent of the globally recognized Just Peacemaking Theory in  matters or war and conflict. Click HERE for press release.

 * April 26, 2014: Baptist Ethicist Dr. Glen Stassen has gone to be with the Lord. An active member of the Commission on Peace, Dr. Stassen made  a great difference in the lives of many around the world, and we express our sadness at his passing, as well as deep gratitude for what he  represented to all of us. Though the world has lost an invaluable person, his memory and the work he has done for peace and justice as a  committed Christian and Baptist will remain with us. He was one of those few scholars who managed so well to combine theory and praxis, and at the end of the day, his legacy will not allow us to rest. As we remember him, let us be inspired and challenged to carry on his legacy and work even harder and more diligently for peace and equality throughout the world.

We thank members such as Dan Buttry who have published tributes about this brilliant man.


2012: Edgar Palacios for his prominent role in advocating for the rights of the poor and negotiating the peacemaking process that  brought to  an end a civil war in El Salvador, which took approximately  75,000 lives over the course of 12 years.
 Click HERE for press release.




2011: Wati Aier in recognition for his persistent work for peace in Nagaland over the years and his role as convener for the Forum for  Naga Reconciliation.



2009: Leena Lavanya Kumari of Narasaraopet, Andhra Pradesh, India, for her philanthropic work, human rights advocacy, and church  planting endeavors in Narasaraopet and surrounding towns and  villages.




2008: Dennis Dilip Datta for his advocacy for Bangladesh independence, the restoration of democracy, and the establishment of religious  freedom in his country.





2007: João and Nora Matwawana from Angola, for their role in reconciliation and peace efforts in Africa.




 2006: Gustavo Parajon from Nicaragua, clergyman, vice president of the BWA for relief and development work.






2015 Quinquennial Human Rights Award

Congratulations to Corneille Gato Munyamasoko, recipient of the fifth Congress Human Rights Award! (Click Here for Press Release)

Munyamasoko speaking after receiving the Congress Human Rights Award

The award is given for lifetime achievement to an individual who has shown significant accomplishments in global advocacy for human rights and the pursuit of social justice and peace within a local or the wider global community.


Past Quinquennial Human Rights Award Winners

The Quinquennial Human Rights Award is given every five years at the Baptist World Congress to an individual who has shown a life-long commitment toward the betterment of human rights.



Munyamasoko speaking after receiving the Congress Human Rights Award 2015: Corneille Gato Munyamasoko, general secretary of the Association of Baptist Churches in Rwanda, was recognized for his work in peace and reconciliation after the 1994 genocide in his country. Click here for press release.



 2010: Denton Lotz, former general secretary of the Baptist World Alliance, for a lifetime commitment to global human rights concerns.






 2005: Lauran Bethell of American Baptist Churches for work with exploited women and children in Thailand.






 2000: Pastor Simon from Myanmar working in the refugee camps in Northern Thailand.





 1995: Former USA President Jimmy Carter, Director of the Carter Center, Georgia, USA.





(Back to top)